Skip Navigation
  1. home
  2. About Daegu
  3. International Exchange
  4. Friendship Cities
  5. Wuhan, China

Friendship Cities

Wuhan (武汉), China – since March 24, 2016

Wuhan is the capital city of Hubei Province. Its name comes from the city’s historical origin from the conglomeration of Wuchang, Hankou, and Hanyang. Wuhan is the center of politics, economy, finance, culture, and transportation in the Huazhong region, and home to the second largest number of universities in China after Beijing. Its major industries include steel, optical communication, petrochemicals, and automobile. Due to its extremely hot summers similar to Daegu, Wuhan is referred to as one of the “Three Furnaces” of China, alongside Nanjing and Chongqing.

  • Location : Central part of Hubei Province, China
  • Population : 11.08 million
  • Area :8,594 km2